Maxtor OneTouch II MacOS X 10.1.5 Update Utility

This update allows the Maxtor DriveLock security feature to be enabled for MacOS version 10.1.5 for USB and FireWire.

Release Notes

Before you install:

  • Quit any other programs that are running, including virus-protection programs, because they might interfere with installation.
  • Make sure you have the name and password for an administrator user account on your computer. MacOS X requires you to enter this information during installation.
  • Make sure Apple Disk Copy version 10.1 or later is installed on your computer. By default, MacOS X includes the correct version of this program.


  • Step 1

    Download MacOS_X_Eng_Update.dmg from this page.

    Safari is the recommended browser.

  • Step 2

    Once you've downloaded the file, the file is normally automatically unpacked by MacOS X after downloading. If the disk image does not mount automatically, double-click on the   .dmg file to mount it.

    If that fails, and the file does not look like a disk image file, right-click on the file (or hold down Control and click on the file), and select Get Info.  In the "Open with application" category, choose Disk Copy.

  • Step 3

    Double-click on Install Retrospect Express.

  • Step 4

    Authenticate with the appropriate name, password or phrase and click OK.

  • Step 5

    The Welcome Screen appears click on the Continue button.

  • Step 6

    Read the terms of the Dantz Retrospect End-User License Agreement (EULA) and, if you accept these terms, click Accept.

  • Step 7

    This screen allows you to specify what type of installation you want and where. It is automatically setup to do a Full Installation (Recommended) into the Applications folder on your Mac. You can select a Custom Installation, using the Easy Install menu, as well as change the location of the installation using the Install Location menu at the bottom of the screen. When you are ready, click Install.

  • Step 8

    The installation will begin.

    Step 9

    A warning will appear, informing you that the system will need to be restarted after the update. Click on the Restart button to proceed.