Remote Backups: Enable Network Backup Server

 

Remote backups copy data from a share on your NAS OS device to a share on a second NAS. A second NAS can be:

  • A Seagate NAS OS device
  • A LaCie NAS running LaCie NAS OS 2.0 or higher
  • A NAS compatible with rsync

The first NAS OS device with the share to back up is the Source. The second NAS is called the Destination since it stores the backup data.

 

Type of remote backupSource NASDestination NASDestination NAS locationDestination share
Local NAS-to-NAS NAS OS device A on the local network NAS OS device B or a third-party rsync-compatible NAS Local network Network Backup share or rsync equivalent
Offsite NAS-to-NAS NAS OS device A on the local network NAS OS device B or a third-party rsync compatible NAS External network (e.g. a colleague's home or a branch office) Network Backup share or rsync equivalent

 

Note on rsync: See Remote Backup: Rsync for instructions on how to back up to a NAS that is rsync compatible.

 

Enable Network Backup server

 

All remote backups from a NAS OS device to a destination NAS OS device are copied to a special share called Network Backup. To create the share, the Network Backup server on the destination NAS OS device must be enabled.

  1. Go to NAS OS in an Internet browser and choose Backup > Network Backup server.
  2. Choose Enable.
  3. At the prompt, enter and confirm a password (between 4 and 20 characters). The password can be different from the password you use for your NAS OS login. Your Network Backup password will be needed when you set up a remote backup.
  4. If you have more than one volume, select the Location pull-down menu to choose a volume for the Network Backup share. It is highly recommended that you use a volume with RAID protection (SimplyRAID, RAID 1, RAID 5, RAID 6, or RAID 10).
  5. Choose Save.
  6. With Network Backup enabled, NAS OS provides a summary of the settings. You can return to the Network Backup page if you forget the password or you want to disable the Network Backup share.

 

Network Backup tab

  • Only the NAS administrator can access the Network Backup share.
  • The administrator can find the Network Backup password if it is forgotten. Go to the Network Backup tab and click on the magnifying glass icon.
  • To change the Network Backup password, choose the configuration icon (pencil).
  • Administrators must confirm that the ports used by NAS OS Backup jobs are available on the network router. The defaults are:
    • Port 22
    • Port 873 (encrypted backups)
  • To delete the Network Backup share, choose Disable. A prompt will ask if you wish to keep data or delete all files with the share.