SAVE AS PDF
Toolkit User Manual
Toolkit User Manual

Was this content helpful?

Sync Plus Activity

The Sync Plus activity provides a continual sync of data between your computer and your drive, ensuring your files are available in both places.

Stay in sync Sync folders on your PC or Mac with folders on your drive. Whenever you add, edit, or delete files on one device, Sync Plus automatically updates the files on the other.
Archive deleted files Automatically copy files you’ve deleted to the archive folder on your drive.
  Toolkit will not sync some types of data. See Files and folders excluded from syncing.

Sync Plus is available for the following premium products:

Supported devicesProduct support pageUser manual
Seagate One Touch SSD Product Documentation

Set up a quick sync

You can quickly create a plan to sync your PC or Mac’s user folder. Toolkit performs the following actions in a quick sync:

  • Creates a default plan syncing your PC or Mac’s user folder with your drive.
  • Files and folders you delete are automatically copied to the archive folder on the drive.

To create a quick sync:

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on the Sync Plus activity.
  3. Click Sync.
  4. Review settings and click Got It.

Create a custom Sync Plus plan

A custom Sync Plus plan lets you:

  • Choose folders to sync with your drive.
  • Customize your sync and archive settings.

To set up your custom Sync Plus plan:

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on a drive.
  3. Click Create a new Sync Plus plan.
  4. Click Next.
  5. Select the computer folders you want to sync. Click Next.
  6. Select the destination on your drive for the synced folder(s). Click Next.
  7. Click on the toggle switches to change the following settings:
SettingOnOff
2-way sync Changes made to files on your computer are synced with your drive, and vice versa.
  • Your drive stays synced to changes made to files on your computer. However, changes made to files on your drive are not synced to your computer.
  • Files deleted from your computer are not deleted from your drive.
  • Turning off 2-way sync disables the Archive deleted files option.
Archive deleted files Files and folders deleted from your computer or drive are saved to the archive folder. Turning off 2-way sync disables the Archive deleted files option. Deleted files and folders are not saved. Turning off 2-way sync disables the Archive deleted files option.
  1. Click Create.
  2. Review settings and click Got It.

Pause/resume a Sync Plus plan

To pause a Sync Plus plan:

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on a drive.
  3. On the Sync Plus plan, click Pause.

To resume the Sync Plus plan, click Resume.

View synced folders and archive

To view synced folders and archives in your file manager:

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on a drive.
  3. On the Sync Plus plan, click View.

Edit a Sync Plus plan

To edit a Sync Plus plan:

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on a drive.
  3. On the Sync Plus Plan, click on the More icon () and select Edit.
  4. Select source and destination folders, and change sync and archive settings as needed.

Delete a Sync Plus plan

To delete a Sync Plus plan:

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on a drive.
  3. On the Sync Plus Plan, click on the More icon () and select Delete.
  4. Click OK to confirm.

Restore files

To restore files from the archive:

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on a drive.
  3. On the Sync Plus Plan, click on the More icon () and select Restore.
  4. Toolkit opens a file browsing window so you can copy data from the archive folder to another location.

Files and folders excluded from syncing

Toolkit will not sync program files, application data, temporary files, and other types of system files and folders. A full listing of items excluded from syncing can be found in this knowledge base article.