SAVE AS PDF
Toolkit User Manual
Toolkit User Manual

Was this content helpful?

Mirror Activity

The Mirror activity lets you create a Mirror folder on your PC or Mac that is synced to your storage device. Whenever you add, edit, or delete files in one folder, Toolkit automatically updates the other folder with your changes.

Create a mirror plan

Quick setup

Toolkit can quickly set up a mirror folder in your computer's user folder.

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on the Mirror activity.
  3. Click Mirror Now.

Toolkit performs the following actions:

  • Adds a folder named "Mirror" in your user folder on the computer.
  • Adds a folder named "Mirror" to your storage device. The default location is in the Toolkit folder.

Custom setup

A custom setup lets you choose the location of the mirror folder on your computer.

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on the Mirror activity.
  3. Click Custom.
  4. Click on the Mirror to... card.
  5. Select a location on your computer for the mirror folder.
  6. Click Create.

Toolkit performs the following actions:

  • Adds a folder named "Mirror" to the selected location on your computer.
  • Adds a folder named "Mirror" to your storage device. The default location is in the Toolkit folder.

Adding files to mirror folders

To add content, drag files to either Mirror folder. Whenever you add, edit, or delete files in one Mirror folder, Toolkit automatically updates the other Mirror folder with your changes.

  The Mirror folders must each be named “Mirror” in order to sync. Do not rename the folders.

Pause/resume a mirror plan

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on the Mirror activity.
  3. Click on the More icon () and select Pause.

To resume the Mirror plan, click on the More icon () and select Resume.

Edit a mirror plan

  1. On the Main Menu, click on the Mirror activity.
  2. Click on More icon () and select Edit.
  3. Select a new location for the Mirror folder on your computer.
  4. Click Create.

The new Mirror folder is now synced with the Mirror folder on your storage device.

  When Toolkit creates the new Mirror folder, it does not delete the previous folder. The previous folder is no longer synced with your storage device and can be deleted.

Delete a mirror plan

  1. On the Main Menu, click on the Mirror activity.
  2. Click on the More icon () and select Delete.
  3. Click OK to confirm.
  Toolkit deletes the mirror plan but does not remove the Mirror folder on your computer or your storage device. The contents of the folders are also preserved.

View report

You can review a report of mirror activity. The report lists files that were not synced, and includes details on the cause as well as file paths on the host computer and backup drive.

  1. Open Toolkit.
  2. On the Main Menu, click on the Mirror activity.
  3. Click the More icon () and select Report.