Resource Center Blog Open Source Partners

Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linked in

NAS OS 4.x - Network Recycle Bin (NRB)

The purpose of the Network Recycle Bin (NRB) is to ensure that when a file is deleted from the NAS, it isn’t permanently deleted. The benefit of the NRB is that if you delete a file from your NAS by mistake, you can restore the file back to the NAS. The downside to the NRB is that when you delete files from the NAS, you will not see the extra capacity freed up. You will have to empty the Recycle Bin in order to gain the additional free space.


How to enable Recycle Bin Service

  1. Log on to the Seagate NAS OS 4 and click on Device Manager.  

    Device Manager Button
  2. Click on Services.
  3. Click on Edit to the right of NRB.

    Edit Network Recycle Bin (NRB) Service
  4. Click Stop.
  5. Click Continue to restart SMB service.

    Note: You do not want to be transferring data to the unit while restarting the SMB service.


How to choose what shares have access to the Recycle Bin

Note: The default setting is to enable the NRB for every share. The following instructions will outline how to enable the NRB for specific shares.

  1. Log on to the Seagate NAS OS 4 and click on Device Manager.  
  2. Click on Services.
  3. Click on Edit to the right of NRB.
  4. Click Share Access.
  5. Click Specific shares.
  6. Select the shares you want NRB enabled for and click Save.

    User-added image


How to Manage the Size of the Recycle Bin

  1. Log on to the Seagate NAS OS 4 and click on Device Manager.  
  2. Click on Services.
  3. Click on Edit to the right of NRB.
  4. Click Manage Size.

    From here you can empty the Recycle Bin or see how much data is being used in which shares.


How to restore data from the Recycle Bin

  1. Log on to the Seagate NAS OS 4 and click on File Browser.  

    File Browser App
  2. Select the share where the data was located.
  3. Select the folder Recycle_bin.
  4. Drag data back into the share it was in to restore the files.


How to empty the Recycle Bin

  1. Log on to the Seagate NAS OS 4 and click on Device Manager.  
  2. Click on Shares.
  3. Next click on Edit to the right of the Share.
  4. Select SMB Network Recycle Bin.
  5. Click empty.

    Note: This will permanently delete all of the data (Music, Pictures, Videos, and Documents) from the unit.


How to disable Recycle Bin Service

  1. Log on to the Seagate NAS OS 4 and click on Device Manager.  
  2. Click on Services.
  3. Click on Edit to the right of NRB.
  4. Click Stop.
  5. Click Continue to restart SMB service.

    Note: You do not want to be transferring data to the unit while restarting the SMB service.