Business Storage Rackmount NAS - How to reset the Rackmount
Explanation of the different types of reset for the Seagate Business Rackmount device.There are three different reset options for the Seagate Business Rackmount device. This article will break down each type of reset.
In order to make the reset options available, you will need to download the reset options from the Seagate website and put them on a USB key.
Download the files and extract them to an empty USB key. The files need to be the only files on the USB key. After it's done, follow these steps:
1 - Safely eject the USB key from your computer and connect it to one of your Rackmount's USB port.
2 - Reboot the Seagate Rackmount while the USB key is still connected to it. After rebooting, access the Rackmount's administrator's page. You will be prompted to enter the MAC address of the Rackmount. You can find that information on the label on the drive.
3 - You will get a window with three options.
First Option: Recover Data
This option will allow you to access the drive via FTP. This can be useful if you need to access files immediately. This also gives you a platform to download and save any files that are vital to you. If you choose this option you will also be given the option to run a file system scan on the drives inside the Rackmount first.
Once you are past this screen, you will be given a direct FTP link to access the drive. Your shares through this access will be renamed to generic names, but the data inside of them should remain intact.
Second Option: Restore to Factory Settings
This option is your typical network Settings reset. It will reset all device Settings, including users, groups, name and network settings. After clicking on Next, you will be prompted to agree to both disclaimers.
The device will start resetting. After the progress bar reaches 100%, you will be prompted to disconnect any external devices attached to the Rackmount. Once the reset is over, the Rackmount will search for firmware updates and apply any updates it might find. After the process is over, you will be prompted to set your Settings again.
Finally, you will be given an option where you can attempt to get your shares back the way that they were prior to resetting, or to get all of your data into one share called Recovery.
Third Option: Format the drives and Install OS
This option is your typical factory reset on the Rackmount. It will wipe all your data and all your settings. After agreeing to the disclaimer, the drives will completely reformat and a fresh iteration of the operating system will install on the Rackmount.