What is the Cloud Maturity Model and How Does It Improve Cloud Compatibility?

A cloud maturity model helps assess an organization’s readiness to use cloud services and outline steps to improve cloud security based on how much infrastructure it has in the cloud.

Table of Contents:

What is the Cloud Maturity Model and How Does It Improve Cloud Compatibility?

Cloud computing technology has evolved over the last two decades, making it more accessible. Organizations are increasingly building their entire infrastructure in the cloud or migrating legacy technology to it. However, many enterprises face challenges in making this shift. The Cloud Maturity Model (CMM) is a tool designed to help organizations devise a better migration strategy and improve cloud compatibility.

Defining Cloud Maturity Model (CMM)

The Cloud Maturity Model (CMM) is a methodology that organizations can utilize to assess their readiness for cloud adoption. It evaluates the organization's current utilization of cloud services and defines the desired state based on business objectives. CMM helps in building a cloud migration strategy, conducting gap analysis, and identifying areas for improvement in cloud infrastructure.

How the Cloud Maturity Model (CMM) Helps

Organizations often struggle to gauge the resources required and define appropriate goals and key performance indicators (KPIs) when embarking on a cloud journey. The Cloud Maturity Model provides a structured approach and acts as a stepping stone for enterprises, assisting them in:

  • Defining goals and developing a solid cloud strategy.
  • Determining target maturity levels to align cloud use cases with business objectives.
  • Designing projects that enhance cloud capabilities.

Achieving Cloud Maturity: 4 Stages of Transformation

A digital transformation project usually occurs in the following stages:

Maturity Stage 1: Project

During the first stage, the organization initiates its digital transformation initiative by devising plans, taking stock of resources, and securing management support.

Maturity Stage 2: Foundation

At Stage 2, the organization creates a clear goals roadmap and begins groundwork to migrate legacy architecture to the cloud. Challenges may include cost, ROI, and timeline concerns, as well as security and compliance issues.

Maturity Stage 3: Migration

During this stage, the organization executes the shift to the cloud, facing implementation challenges while migrating all applications. By the end, the organization's infrastructure is fully cloud-based.

Maturity Stage 4: Optimization

At Stage 4, the organization's digital transformation enters a continuous optimization cycle. Cloud processes are documented, and changes are made based on defined protocols to improve efficiency and customer satisfaction.

Find out where your organization stands in terms of cloud maturity to devise a plan for moving forward. Talking to an expert may help you find a suitable solution. These stages represent different levels of cloud maturity for various organizations.

Maturity Level 0

At Level 0, the organization is completely unprepared for the cloud. Typically, the company relies on on-premise or traditional infrastructure, and the organization has not yet considered moving to the cloud.

Maturity Level 1

At this level of maturity, the organization has explored the cloud, but the processes are not well defined. The possibility of moving existing apps to the cloud or replacing them with a cloud equivalent has been explored.

Maturity Level 2

At Level 2, the processes for moving to the cloud are well-defined and repeatable. However, these processes are applied opportunistically rather than universally across the organization. They are used whenever a new solution is needed or when an app is moved to the cloud.

Maturity Level 3

At this level, there’s a documented approach to the cloud that is consistently followed. Cloud services are integrated into the workplace and automated to a large extent. All activities are performed systematically and consistently monitored.

Maturity Level 4

At Level 4, the company is fully operational on the cloud. Cloud services are used daily in a systematic manner. Different types of clouds are utilized for various use cases, and the organization actively monitors the cloud to promote continuous improvement.

Maturity Level 5

At this stage, the organization manages the cloud efficiently and makes continuous improvements based on available data. Different workloads and use cases on different clouds are managed seamlessly and efficiently.

Cloud Maturity Assessment

Assessing your cloud maturity level is the first step to digital transformation. Organizations must allocate resources to get a detailed overview of their current state and determine what they must do to progress to the next stage.