You can create different shares that you can later make available to different users or groups.
A share is a folder on the NAS. A shared folder contains files that can be accessed by other people and can be shared on either a public (open to everyone with some restrictions) basis or private basis.
You can create, modify or delete shared folders at any time. When you delete a shared folder, you lose all the files stored in that shared folder.
Please follow this procedure to create a share:
- Log into Seagate NAS Manager as the administrator using Seagate NAS Discovery or by entering the IP address of the NAS device in the address bar of a web browser.
- From the left sidebar, select Storage, then Shared Folders.
Your available shares (if any) will be displayed.
- Select the Add Shared Folder button.
The Add Shared Folder page displays.
- Fill in the information in the fields and select the desired services to be active on the share.
If you want the share to be a public share, make sure you uncheck the Set up access control after creating this shared folder box.
If you want the share to be a private share, you will be prompted to choose permissions after clicking on the Save button.
If the share you created is a public share, the share is already created and should now be available in the list of Shared Folders.
If the share is a private share, the Shared Folder permission screen displays. Click on the Edit button under the Actions column () on the right of the Share to which you want to assign permissions.
The permissions window displays.
- Uncheck the Public Access box.
- Choose the users or groups from the list to the left and assign them to Full access, Read only access, or No access.