Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linked in

Lyve Client - FAQ

See the knowledge base article below for Frequently Asked Questions and their answers about the Lyve Mobile Solutions Client software. 

More information can be found in the User Manual, and in the Lyve Mobile Solutions FAQ (general), and the Lyve Mobile Array FAQ (hardware): 

 

Q: How do I install Lyve Client software? 

A: Download links to the installer(s) can be found on Lyve Management Portal:  

  • Log in to lyve.seagate.com 

  • On the Home page, click Downloads 

  • At the prompt, click Download for either Windows® or macOS® 

  • Go to the folder where you receive downloads and open the installer 

  • Follow the onscreen instructions to complete the setup and open Lyve Client  

 

Q: How do I authorize host computers to access Lyve Mobile devices? 

 A: To authorize a host computer: 

  • Open the Lyve Client on a computer intended to host (connect) your Lyve Mobile device 

  • With an active internet connection, enter your Lyve Management Portal email address and password to log into your account 

  • Lyve Client automatically authorizes the host computer to unlock and access Lyve devices and manage projects on the Lyve Management Portal 

 

Q: How do I unlock a Lyve Mobile device using the Lyve Client software? 

A: If you have already created an account at lyve.seagate.com, simply log into the Lyve Client software, connect the device. It will automatically be detected and appear on the Dashboard page. 

 

Q: Will Lyve Client automatically detect my Lyve Mobile device(s)? 

A: Yes. Connect the device to the host computer, log into the Lyve Client with appropriate credentials, and the Lyve Mobile device(s) will automatically be detected. 

   

Q: How do I view devices on the Dashboard and see device details? 

A: Lyve Client automatically adds devices for inclusion in Lyve Client workflows and device management. To view device details, hover your cursor over a device card and click on the Inspect icon. 

  

Q: How do I create a workflow? 

A: To create a new workflow 

  • Click on the Plus icon at the top of the screen 

  • Select a source volume for the workflow and click Next.  

  • Select a file filter for the import: All files or New files. 'All files' copies all the files from the source volume each time you connect your device. 'New files' incrementally copies added or updated content since the last import  

  • Select a destination volume for the workflow and click Next 

  • Select secondary actions. Check Delete to delete files from the source volume once copies are complete. Check Notify to override default notifications for this workflow. Click Next.  

  • Set workflow actions. Using the Trigger dropdown menu, select Automatic to trigger this workflow whenever the source device is connected to the host computer, or select Manual to only trigger this workflow manually. Click Next 

  

Q: How do I edit a workflow? 

A: To edit an existing Workflow: 

  • Hover your cursor over an existing workflow and click on the More menu, and then select Edit 

  • Edit elements of the workflow 

  • Click Create 

  

Q: How do I delete a workflow?  

A: To delete an existing Workflow:  

  • Hover your cursor over an existing workflow and click on the More menu, and then select Delete 

  • Edit elements of the workflow 

  • Click Delete 

  

Q: How do I copy an Import Activity to another destination? 

A: You can copy the same bundle of files to another destination volume: 

  • Hover your cursor over a row in the list of activities and click on the Copy icon 

  • Select a destination volume 

  • Click Copy 

  

Q: How do I delete an Import Activity? 

A: If you don't need to copy a bundle of files to more destination volumes, you can delete the destination data: 

  • Hover your cursor over a row in the list of activities and click on the Delete icon 

  • Select a destination volume 

  • Click Delete 

  

Q: How do I export an Import Activity to an unmanaged volume? 

A: You can copy the same bundle of files to an unmanaged volume: 

  • Hover your cursor over a row in the list of activities and click on the Inspect icon 

  • Click on the Destination Type dropdown and select Unmanaged volume 

  • Select an unmanaged volume from the list 

  • Click Export 

  

Q: How do I export an Import Activity to an external endpoint? 

A: You can copy the same bundle of files to external endpoints such as Amazon S3 and SwiftStack S3: 

  • Hover your cursor over a row in the list of activities and click on the Inspect icon 

  • Click on the Destination Type dropdown and select External endpoint 

  • Select an existing external endpoint or create a new one 

  • Click Export." 

  

Q: How do I identify a connected Lyve Mobile device via LED? 

A: Click on the Devices tab to view devices that have been added to Lyve Client. It can identify a connected Lyve Mobile device for you by having it temporarily flash its LED. This is useful if you have a large bank of connected Lyve Mobile devices, and you need to identify a particular device. 

  • Hover your cursor over a Lyve Mobile device card and click on the Identify LED icon 

  • Observe the front faces of your devices to spot the one with the flashing purple LED 

  • Click the Identify LED icon a second time to turn off the identification." 

  

Q: Can I rename a connected Lyve Mobile device? 

A: Yes, you can rename connected Lyve Mobile devices: 

  • Hover your cursor over a Lyve Mobile device card and click on the Edit icon 

  • Enter a new name for the device 

  • Click Done." 

  

Q: How do I modify a Lyve Mobile device's LED settings? 

A: You can turn a Lyve Mobile device's LED on or off and view the device's LED color legend, which shows the definition of each LED color to a specific state: 

  • Go to a Device Details screen 

  • Hover your cursor over the LED card and click on the Edit LED icon 

  • Click on the toggle switch to turn the LED on or off 

  • Click on Show LED Legend to expand the legend 

  • Click Done 

  

Q: What is a Crypto-Erase? 

A: Crypto-Erase securely deletes all data on the Lyve Mobile device while keeping your device settings and password intact. 

  

Q: How do I run a Crypto-Erase? 

A: To securely erase your Lyve device and delete all dataLyve Client accesses all that data on individual drives. Therefore, the RAID must be recreated after the Crypto-Erase is complete. Recreating the RAID requires an initialization that can take over 24 hours if the Lyve device is not in use. You can use your Lyve device during the initialization, however performance will be degraded until it is complete. Also, using the device during an initialization will increase the time for it to complete. To avoid delays in completing the initialization, make certain that the host computer does not go to sleep until the process is completed. If the computer goes to sleep, the initialization will be paused until it wakes up. 

  • Go to a Device Details screen 

  • Hover your cursor over the Secured card and click on the Crypto-Erase icon 

  • Click Enter