The Mobile Backup app is being discontinued as of May 1, 2018. After that date the Mobile Backup app will no longer be backing up your data automatically to your hard drive or cloud service. Is the backed up data safe?
It is important to know that the backups done prior to May 1st will still be on your hard drive or Cloud service. The data that you backed up will be located in a folder labeled ‘Seagate Dashboard’
. Within that folder you will be able to locate the files that were backed up previously by your device(s). How do I restore my data?
Some of the data can be restored manually which differs depending on the device.Android Users
- You can restore your images and videos by connecting the phone to the computer then copying the data back to your device. You can also upload the data from the drive to a cloud service then install their app on your device. This will allow you to access or download the files from their app. Consult the service provider for exact details.
- You will not be able to restore the other data because it is stored in an encrypted sqlite file.
- You can restore your imagines by uploading the data from the drive to a cloud service then install their app on your device. This will allow you to access or download the files from their app. Consult the service provider for exact details.
- iOS users with supported iOS and macOS can use AirDrop to move the data. Use AirDrop to send content from your Mac.
What are the alternatives to Mobile Backup?
Here are some alternatives to the Seagate Mobile backup. Please note, this is not an exhaustive list and some services charge while others may be free:
If you are an Android user:
If you are an iOS users:
- Utilize the “Backup My Data Option” that is located under SETTINGS.
- Utilize a selected Cloud service app (e.g. Dropbox, OneDrive, Google Drive, iCloud) to sync your files
For Window users, these backups are stored in AppData which neither Seagate Dashboard nor Toolkit will back up so if you move to a new computer you will need do a new backup on the new computer. Apple does not recommend relocating these backups.